OP Engine Devlog

Eren Dere -- 17 February, 2023
 2 min read
headImage

OP Engine Devlog

OP Engine is a game engine that is developed by me. It is in its baby steps. I have been watching @TheCherno's Game Engine Series and learnt a lot about how game engines are built by looking at how he builds his Hazel Engine.


Intro

I first started implementing this project in early 2022 while watching him code public branch of Hazel Engine and learnt a lot. After finishing the series, I started making a lot of changes according to my needs and OP Engine started forming. It has:

  • [x] OpenGL support
  • [x] 3D PBR Graphics
  • [x] Shadow mapping for multiple lights (cascaded for directional lights)
  • [x] Model loading and skeletal animations
  • [x] Scene management, entity component system
  • [x] A level editor (OP Editor)
  • [x] 3D Physics with Bullet Physics library
  • [x] C# scripting support with mono

Current State

Here is a demo of the engine:



In addition, I have implemented boids algorithm using the engine and here is the simulation:




This engine actually acts as a testbed which helps me learn important concepts especially in graphics programming. As I improve myself, I will add new things and keep track of my progress will devlogs. I wish I started writing devlogs earlier but no worries, I have a lot of things in my mind which needs to be implemented and improved.

I want to implement most of the techniques and algorithms so I learn how the work. In the current state of the engine and level editor, we can build scenes and run simulations, it has performance issues that I am going to address later.

Copyright © 2024 --- Eren Dere